the best way for society to prepare young people for leadership in government or similar fields is through cooperation, not competition

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. once said, " A good leader is not who is dynamic in mundane conditions but the one who demonstrates his skills and capabilities in tumultuous situations". Leadership is a skill that is either inborn or has to be cultivated over one's whole life. the author contends that instilling in young people a sense of cooperation is more beneficial than supporting competition. In my opinion, I somewhat agree with this contention and argue that cooperation as well as a healthy sense of competition is beneficial for one's character development for two reasons.

To begin, when two people compete, there is always going to be a winner and a loser. The loser can learn about his mistakes and then do better the next time around. Encouraging such healthy competition from a young age helps young adults prepare for a life that is full of vivid experiences, some of which they would not have been able to experience if they hadn't failed at something. For instance, Maria Sharapova and Serena Williams are both extremely talented and competitive women who have competed multiple times in their careers.

Further, being a leader necessitates donning different hats in different scenarios.A leader in times of economic hardship must be strategic, cogent in his decision making