: People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they

like to do—rather than doing things they should do.

Some people argue that people should devote most of their time doing things that are necessary. They believe that spending too much time on doing unnecessary things is not beneficial for the well being of oneself. However, I strongly disagree with these people and contend that people must spend their time as they like, doing things that they love, for the following reasons.

First of all, I believe that when people follow their passions, they are happier. On the other hand, research has shown that when people do things out of obligation to someone, they tend to be unhappy with their lives. For instance, when I was in fifth grade in school, we had an option to choose either music or art as an elective subject. My parents thought that I should take up music to improve my singing skills but I loved to paint. Out of respect for my parents, I chose music as my elective but practicing singing everyday was making me miserable. I longed to create art and paint with my friends. My parents noticed this and let me choose the art elective. Similarly, when people spend their time doing things that they love, they feel satisfied, content and have a more positive outlook towards everything in their life.

Secondly, investing time in doing something for personal enjoyment increases one’s productivity and skills. For example, a software developer who loves horse riding might not be an efficient and productive employee. She might spend her days staring at her computer thinking of horse-riding when she is supposed to write code. But if she leaves the job and concentrates on horse riding, she will be motivated to spend more of her time doing it and master the skill. It is better to focus on something you like doing, and spend time mastering it than to be a jack of all trades but a master of none. One can be best at something only if he continuously practices it again and again even when other people believe it to be a waste of time.

In conclusion, the issue of whether people should spend their time doing what they love or doing necessary things, is a complex one. Some have suggested that doing things that are expected of them helps complete their tasks on time. Nevertheless, I still assert that spending time doing what we love is more advantageous in the long run.