Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People learn things better from those at their own level—such as fellow

students or co-workers—than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or

supervisors.

Some people think humans learn more from their teachers or person at a higher level than the person at the same level, as they have better experience and knowledge about how things work. However, I disagree with this stance for the following two reasons.

First of all, People from the same level often see things from similar viewpoints, and they can understand our queries, and doubt better than someone from a higher level than us. For instance, During my university days, I usually had trouble understanding concepts taught in our classes by teachers who had mastered the course and achieved a lot in a similar field. However, when the same course was taught by my friends, who were familiar with my knowledge level and learning style, I used to comprehend the topic very easily. If I hadn’t learned the content of my academic curriculum from my friends then I’m almost sure that my grades would have been way lower than it is right now. When people know the level or understand people better, they can simply modify the knowledge to be passed into a similar form that can be easy to grasp. This way of learning can be very effective and can save a lot of time.

Second of all, People of the same level can help us to communicate as they won’t judge the questions that we raise to them whereas this mightn’t be the case when we question our seniors or teachers. For instance, When I was learning to ride a car as I knew nothing at the beginning, I would just consult with other fellow learners like me rather than question my driving teacher. By consulting my friends I was able to get answers to my doubts and soon that paid off and I learned to drive the car faster. If I had depended only on my teacher for learning to drive a car, I doubt I would have learned to drive that quicker. Good communication can prevent various problems before they occur, but not enough communication can worsen things. By avoiding hassles at learning we simply learn things faster and never feel like we are lost.

In conclusion, I do believe we tend to learn things better when we learn from someone who can understand us better and help us deal with problems in our way.