The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

In the letter to editor, It was concluded that in order to preserve region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment West Lansburg Council shouldn't allow the road to be built. The conclusion was based on the comparison of situation with that of neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which has seen its sea otter population decline after the repeal of sanctuary status.

However some additional evidences are required in order to consider this conclusion considerable.

Firstly, The evidence denoting clearly the similarity in biodiversity between West Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria is required. In other words, it should be shown that the biodiversity of these two places requires identical condition so that similar condition can cause decline in their number. It is possible that the biodiversity of West Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria requires completely different condition and allowing road to be built have no affect in biodiversity of West Lansburg. However it is also possible allowing road to be built will rather help in promotion and finally their preservation as people becomes more informed. If the evidences for cannot be provided the statement doesn't holds water.

Secondly, It should be made clear that the decline in the number of sea otter in east Carpenteria was caused by decline in sanctuary status only. In other words is there evidence confirming the decline in number of sea otter in only due to decline in sanctuary status and not other. It is possible that due to the increase in pollution in the sea water there number got reduced. However, there is possibility that there number declined naturally. If these two conditions are right then the statement is severely weakened.

Finally , The evidence conforming the similar consequences caused due to declining sanctuary status and allowing road to be built should be provided. It is possible that road can also be built with considering preservation of the biodiversity of that area.

However, there is possibility that road can be built within the sanctuary status.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to too many unwarranted assumptions. However if the author is able to provide the additional evidences as describe above the argument not allowing road to be built can ensure healthy environment and preserve biodiversity.