A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the study issued recently, it is stated that health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future. This conclusion was reached by studying the correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported through twenty years. However, before this conclusion can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, Does Salicylate cure headache? In other words does Salicylates has the similar healing properties like that of aspirin? It is possible that despite Salicylates falling in same chemical family as aspirin it doesn’t necessarily has the same medicinal effect as that of aspirin. Further, there is possibility that it has opposite effect on our human body. If either of these case is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is severely weakened.

Secondly, Was the research done on the other factors that led to decline in the average number of headache? In other words can there be other causes contributing more to the decline in the number of headache patients. There is possibility that within the span of ten years, there had happened the advancement of medical facilities which was responsible for that outcome. Further, It is also possible that people started following healthy lifestyles. If these cases are true, the above argument doesn’t hold water.

Similarly, Was the proportion of Salicylates used in food enough to show some effects in humans? In other words, even if Salicylates have the healing property and Salicylates was only responsible for the decline in the average number of headaches is the amount of it used capable to show medicinal effects like that of aspirin. It is possible that the proportion of Salicylates used was not enough to show any effect in the human body. Further, there is possibility that Salicylates used in the food as preservatives mayn't be in the form to show effect to human.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to too many unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers of the three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible that residents of Mentia suffer less headaches in the near future.