Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer argues in the passage that the population of arctic deer is decreasing with the global warming phenomenon. It is explained by the incapability of crossing the frozen sea to move to another separated island. However, in order to evaluate the argument, more evidence regarding environmental change is required.

Firstly, the number of animals that also feed the plants competing with the deer might have increased. It is unsound that the plants that the deer feed are only fed by the deer; other species might also eat them. If the populations of other animals such as rabbits and squirrels increased, the total amount of plants available to the deer might be reduced. As a result, due to the lack of grass, the deer population might be declined. In this case, the decline of the deer population cannot blame global warming.

Secondly, the decreased deer populations might be related to the over-haunting by local hunters. There might be a new trend of wearing clothes made of deer leather with research about how efficiently the leather helps to endure the extreme cold. It might more people to demand the deer leather, thus, the number of haunted deer might be increased. If then, the writer’s assertion cannot hold water.

Thirdly, there is no evidence of how many portions of ice were melt due to global warming. Although the average temperature has increased, the amount of ice might be not that different. In order to claim the global warming prevented the deer from crossing the sea to move to another island, the ice had to be melted as much as the deer cannot cross it. Without mentioning how much the ice melted, it is difficult to consider the claim is true.