Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument, the author imputes global warming for the declining deer populations. The author draws his conclusion from the coincidence of the global warming trend with the reports from local hunters. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated arguments need to be answered.

Firstly, the author supports his argument on the basis of reports from the local hunters without providing legitimate evidence about the report. The author is unable to not provide any scrutinized evidence to the readers about the legitimacy of the report. The reader may ask questions about the sample size of the reports, in other words, how many hunters reported the decline of deer populations. Even if this is not the case, there is a possibility that they have not seen any deers over the recent few months and they concluded that the deers' population is declining. That does not mean the deer population is declining. Perhaps, deers have been avoiding those areas, where the hunters hunt. Supporting data only on the basis of some unreliable reports may not be a good idea to draw a conclusion. If, any one of the above scenarios is true, then, the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author correlates two completely different phenomena to draw conclusions. Global warming and reports from hinters are two disjoint entities. Two different events happening at the same time can not be used to justify something. Maybe the declining deer population has no relation to global warming. Even if, that is not the case, stating global warming is the only reason for the declining deer population is somehow factitious. There is a possibility that even if global warming caused ice to melt, the deers may have another source of food. Perhaps unrestricted hunting may be the main cause of the decline of the population. The author uses two completely different phenomena even though, they are occurring simultaneously, but that does not mean that they are correlated. If any one of the above scenarios is true, then, the author's conclusion is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author concludes that global warming is the only reason for the declining population of deers without any necessitate evidence. Maybe there are several reasons behind the decline. The author provides no scientific reports to support his argument. Maybe emancipate hunting in those areas is the main cause of the decline. Even if this is not the case, then the deer may have other food sources. Maybe at the time of below-average temparature, the deers do not follow their age-old migration patterns, there is a possibility that they recently find new patterns. If, the author provides some statistical data to support his argument, then, the author’s statement may have sounded more reliable. Otherwise, the author’s prediction is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that because of the global warming the ice melts and deers are unable to find their old-age migration route.