In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Some people might say the number of cars will be increasing for the upcoming twenty years. This is because a car is more and more affordable with its lowered price and increased people’s wages. However, I do not agree with this opinion for two reasons.

Firstly, new public transportation might be invented. When there were no subways, the only available methods to commute to schools or works were cars (i.e. private cars, buses, and taxis). At that time, due to the inefficiency of bus and the expensive fee of taxi, many people had to buy cars. However, when a subway was introduced, this trend was changed a lot. With its fast speed and cheap fee, many people started to use subways to commute, rather than their private cars. In a similar way, if new public transportation is invented, more and more people might use public transportation, reducing the number of cars in twenty years.

Secondly, many environment-friendly policies are inducing people to use public transportation, instead of their own cars. To be specific, the Korean government has been increasing the tax for driving a car and improving the public transportation systems with more efficient routes and cleaner and fancier facilities. Indeed, it has lowered the number of cars in the street, especially in big cities such as Seoul. In addition, the government is planning on several policies to enhance the citizen’s comfort in using public transportation. Thus, it shows the newly introduced policies have been reduced private car use, and it can be expected that upcoming policies will keep reducing the number of cars in twenty years.

It is debatable whether there will be more or fewer cars in twenty years. However, in my opinion, it is more reasonable to expect that it will be reduced with the reasons mentioned in this article.