Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Considering the dizzying development speed of technology we are witnessing today, it seems very challenging to correctly predict the future. Although some people believe the number of private cars will decrease in twenty years as public transports will be renovated and become widely available, I don't think this will be the case. On the contrary, I expect there will be even more car owners in the 2040s.

To be honest, my opinion is based on the developments I have been observing in the car industry. Within a decade, there have been a myriad of impressive renovations for car models, much more than those for other vehicles such as trains or bicycles. For example, there are automatic cars that employ AI to predict and reduce traffic accidents to the lowest possible number. Such application of AI has not been seen in any other means of transportation, suggesting four-wheeled automobiles are leading in the transformation of future transportation. In 20 years' time, when we are closer to the climax of information and technology age, self-driving cars will inevitably continue to be the trend, or even the vehicle of the future.

Moreover, the primary factor that makes most people doubt the prevalence of cars in the future is its pollution threats due to carbon emissions. However, as far as I know, this is no longer a problem in certain modern models of electric and alternative fuel cars. Car engineers and scientists have continuously conducted research and experiments in order to improve and maximize their environmentally friendly features. These models of cars have been working well so far, receiving lots of credits and expectation for their growth. In a few years when cars are more upgraded and have become more affordable to public consumers, it will be easy to see their potential in rising to the top means of transport.

All in all, I feel that people in the future will keep on preferring private cars as they do now, especially when this type of vehicle is considerably transformed to the most convenient, intelligent and sustainable automobile ever existed.