In business, education, and government, it is always appropriate to remain skeptical of new leaders until those leaders show that they are worthy of trust.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Wherever their working fields are, leaders take important roles strongly influencing those workers and making important decisions for a company, a school, or even a nation. While there is no doubt to those who have demonstrated their competence as a leader, there are contradicting views on whether trust unproven leaders. Although there might be reasons to trust them, being skeptical of them until verifying that they are a good leader seems more plausible.

Firstly, although new leaders might have long working experience in the fields, working as a general worker and working as a leader are not the same at all. While working below someone, they have relatively lower responsibility to a project; what they need to do is finishing a small part of the project. However, leaders are those who take full responsibility for the entire process and result of the project, which means they need to understand broader fields and reconcile those different parts. It indicates that when a competent worker becomes a leader, it does not necessarily indicate that he or she will be a good leader. Thus, staying dubious about unproven new leaders seems beneficial minimizing the possible risk from their lack of experience as a leader.

Secondly, proving their competence as a leader does not take a long time. There are many feasible factors to use whether a new leader is a good leader. For example, communicating skills are the most important part for leaders as they have to understand each part’s states and integrate them. Whether a new leader has proper communicating skills can be easily examined through team meetings or weekly executive meetings. In a similar way, other aspects that are required of leaders will be able to be evaluated. After this short, simple, and easy evaluation as a leader, the new leader will obtain more credibility from others. Then, the reverence for the leader will be higher, and others are willing to follow the new leader. Thus, as evaluating new leaders does not require a long period, there is no reason to hastily trust unproven leaders.

Whether trusting new leaders or not is an important problem strongly related to business, education, and business. Some might insist that many leaders are those who have long professions in related fields and have a deep insight regarding fields, so trusting them is worthy. However, since a leader is a distinct role from others and there are feasible simple methods to evaluate new leaders, it will be persuasive to keep skeptical to new leaders before proving them.