We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are various ways to learn something more: reading books, searching for the internet, and taking lectures. While discussing their own ideas is also a great method, confronting contradicting ideas is more helpful to learn something more compared to sharing similar ideas.

Firstly, contradicting ideas have a special power to attract people. When someone is talking about what one has already considered, the one might expect that will not differ from what they thought and easily lose his or her interest. In contrast, for contradicting ideas, people are likely to concentrate on them to analyze how different ideas have come. As they put more attention to the different, refreshing ideas, there is a high possibility to learn something more. Thus, contradicting views are more advantageous in learning.

Secondly, a discussion of different ideas is beneficial in learning something new. When some even think their ideas are perfect, there might be flaws they never thought of. When arguing against those who have contradicting ideas, they can realize their unwarranted opinions and refine them stronger. Also, while sharing different opinions, they have chances to broaden their perspectives to fields they could not consider. In contrast, for similar views, there is a lack of opportunity to consider other possible sides. Hence, learning from contradicting views is much more than from similar views.

On the other hand, some people consider arguing against contradicting ideas are full of stress, so they rather escape from it. Or perhaps they just pretend they are listening to it while they are not concentrating on a presentation. For these kinds of people, the learning effect of contradicting ideas cannot be expected. However, there are not many people who always reject to consider disparate ideas.

To sum up, those who can accept and examine different ideas have great chances to learn more from contradicting views while others cannot expect this merit. Although it can be different for individuals, in general, contradicting ideas will provide higher learning chances.