Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the reading passage, there were different results from the study about children-rearing practices between Dr. Field, who used an observation-centered approach, and Dr. Karp, who utilized an interview-centered approach. While the former researcher reported that Tertia’s children seem to be reared by a whole village, the latter concluded that they are dominantly reared by their biological parents and considered the former is inaccurate. Within the discrepancy of the research result, Dr. Karp suggested that an interview-centered method is superior to an observation-centered one. However, in order to evaluate whether the recommendation is valid, several questions have to be answered.

Firstly, were the interview questions significantly including the word, parents? Although they were wary not to confine the questions within the children’s experiences with their biological parents, the researchers might mistakenly mention the word, parents, when they were conducting interviews. In this case, the interviewees might answer the questions limited to the examples of playing with their genetic parents. Hence, according to the biased data, the researchers would have concluded that the children are reared majorly by their biological parents rather than an entire village. If then, the result of the interview cannot be trustworthy, as result, the recommendation cannot hold water.

Secondly, did they call other adults in the village mother or father although they are not their biological parents? Probably they do not distinguish how to call the adults in the village from their genetic parents. If then, the interviewer could have not caught which are about their biological parents, and which are not, so they just classified all the answers with the words, mother or father, as evidence of being reared by their genetic parents. If it happened, the study cannot be considered valid, and the recommendation becomes absurd.

To sum up, the recommendation, as it stands now, is not reasonable due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the one who suggested it cannot answer the doubts about the study stated above, it will not be able to be persuasive.