The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

With recent technology, contemporary life has been a lot more luxurious and convenient than any other time. Some people say this new lifestyle has made us weaker and less independent. However, I do not agree with this opinion. I rather believe that we have been stronger and more independent with our affluent and comfortable life for the following reasons.

Firstly, we have more time for hobbies. Technologies have saved time in many aspects of our lives. For example, we can spend less time on house chores with dishwashers and laundry machines. To be specific, what we need to do for washing the dishes and doing the laundry is just putting them in the machines and waiting until they complete the tasks. During the time we saved as the machines are working for us, we can do other things for ourselves such as reading books, doing exercises, or playing musical instruments. I believe the times for developing our internal sides allow us to become stronger individuals.

Secondly, we can do more things by ourselves. For example, we can travel anywhere without hiring a tour guide. On the internet, there is a lot of information that we can access anytime if we have an internet connection. Thus, in order to plan our new trips, all we need to do is finding a place where we want to visit and buying tickets from online websites. When we get there, we can easily move from places to places following recommended instructions of a map application. This is just one of the numerous examples of how contemporary technologies enabled us to live an independent life, requiring less help from others.

There is nothing that accompanies only bright sides. I acknowledge that our luxury and convenient contemporary lives also have dark sides. However, overall, I believe contemporary life has made us stronger and more independent for the reasons I abovementioned.