Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Compared to 20 years ago, the increased number of people is attending colleges or universities for many reasons. Some people say the tuition fee for those institutions has to be covered by individuals as those are optional for one’s life. However, I disagree with their opinion, and I would like to suggest that governments have to financially support every student for higher education, such as college and university education, for the following reasons.

Firstly, highly educated students can strengthen a nation. Up until high school, students are supposed to follow predetermined curriculums which do not consider students’ specific interests. This is because the main purpose of education till high school is to raise well-rounded citizens to be a part of their societies. However, it has been proven in many cases that society will be likely to become wealthier and stronger if more and more citizens receive higher education. It implies that if governments support young students with higher education, they may expect better futures for the nations. Thus, I believe the governments’ financial support for every student’s college and university education is worthy.

Secondly, higher education can reduce the gap between wealthy and poor families. It is a prevailing fact that the average wage of whose final education is from colleges or universities is higher than that of whose final education is from high schools. This is because colleges and universities are where students can acquire professional knowledge, and those students will have better opportunities for professional jobs. However, there are students who have to give up the great opportunities because their families cannot afford the fee. If governments financially aid every student in their college or university education, more students from poor families will be fortunate to discontinue their poverty. For this reason, I support the idea that governmental financial aid for every student’s college and university education is required.

Thirdly, financial support for higher education will find the higher number of talented people. Everyone has their own pace to learn something. Some people show their talents when they are five or six years old, while some others discover their talents after twenty years old. Financially aiding every student can be providing longer time for them to figure out their yet undiscovered talents. Since having as many talented people as possible is beneficial for countries for uncountable reasons, I believe it is worth it for governments to offer free college and university education to every student.

Covering college and university education fees for every student might be a lot of money. However, as it can bring many benefits to their countries as I abovementioned, I believe they will outweigh the cost. Therefore, I support the opinion of the necessity of governments’ financial support for every student’s higher education.