People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The range of behaviours are various by each person, and there are many thoughts about how these are determined. Some insist that one’s own will is the most dominant factor to decide which action to take as people have free will to choose when facing situations. However, in fact, people’s decisions are also largely influenced by other factors such as genetic or cultural reasons rather than their own decisions.

Firstly, many of people’s behaviours are genetically innate, rather than decided by their own making. For instance, when people touch a hot stuff, they automatically detach their hands from the stuff. This behaviour is not made after thinking about what to do at that moment, but just a natural behaviour as our genes have developed for survival for a long time. Not only for this kind of unconscious behaviours, but some of our characteristics are also affected by genes. A glut of studies has been discovered that aggressiveness is partially determined by genes. For example, although two adopted children have been grown in a similar circumstance, they showed different aggressiveness, and it was related to their parents. It shows that genes can be considered as the transcendent factor of one’s own will.

Secondly, cultural influences cannot be ignored in deciding their own behaviours. Social norms are different from each society, for example, east Asian countries put more importance on being harmonious with each other by reducing their uniqueness, whereas European or North American countries more highlight admitting the differences and respecting them. It results in different behaviour patterns when facing the same situation between east Asian and European. Hence, it shows many parts of human being’s behaviours are affected by their culture apart from one’s decision.

Some parts of people’s decisions are decided by their own will and making. However, the assertion that the will is the dominant factor to determine behaviour patterns looks resulted from a lack of considerations as other seemingly more influential factors exist such as genetic and cultural effect.