People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

There are various factors that determine people’s attitudes. Some people insist that societal rules and common sense have a stronger impact on how we think and behave over individuals’ personal situations. However, I do not agree with this opinion. I believe that an individual's personal situations are greater contributors than societal situations in determining one’s attitudes for the following reasons.

Firstly, people are not interested in social issues if they are unrelated to them. The phenomenon that people seem to be sensitively affected by social issues occurs only if the issues have a significant impact on them. In other words, when only a societal situation changes individuals’ immediate situation, they react to the stimulation and adapt their attitudes. On the other hand, if a societal situation is less related to individuals, they are more likely to ignore them. This is because changing attitudes is not an easy job, requiring a lot of effort. This demonstrates that individuals’ situations have stronger power in determining their behaviors when compared to societal situations.

Secondly, during suffering from personal problems, we are restricted to think and behave within them. For instance, when we face a personal crisis, such as being broken up with a boyfriend, we will be busy enough to be sad or upset, unable to consider whatever happens in our society. In that situation, the advent of a new social movement cannot change one’s mind or behaviors, but only one’s current situation will dominate them. Thus, I insist that societal issues will not be able to be more influential than individuals’ issues in determining one’s attitudes.

It is not true that social situations do not affect determining people’s attitudes. However, when compared to the effect of individuals’ situations, they have less influence as I abovementioned. Therefore, I would like to support the suggested opinion.