As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technologies have been changed our lives a lot: travel to the opposite side of the earth within 12 hours, search for anything through the internet with several clicks, and contact others virtually. Although there are contradicting vies to these technologies, they did not seem to deteriorate the humans’ thinking ability.

Firstly, new technologies allow us to handle more complicated areas. Before the technologies developed, people had to do everything by their hands. However, through brilliant inventions, simple and repetitive works have been shifted from humans’ jobs to machines’ jobs. Thus, people have got more free time and started spending their time handling more complicated ones. For example, 50 years ago, the most time-consuming task at the institutions of weather forecasting was manually calculating the probabilities of clouds’ movement. However, for the sake of the invention of the computer, they do not need to spend a lot amount of their time calculating something by their hands anymore, and they more focus on analyzing the calculated results. As a result, they have developed better techniques to predict weather more precisely. Not confined to this field but also in various fields such as economics, science, and others, this kind of change has happened. Thus, it shows technology actually made us more brilliantly rather than deteriorating our thinking ability.

Secondly, for the sake of technologies, people now solve unsolved problems in many areas. Technologies allowed us to easily access hugely accumulated information through the internet. The orderly archived information is beneficial in that researchers can easily look through the previous studies and find the unsolved problems and previous trials for resolving them. Based on the information, researchers can minimize the risk of repeating failure and more easily solve unsolved problems. New medicines for the diseases, which have never been considered curable, and renewable energy solutions are possible examples. Thus, in fact, technologies allow us to develop our thinking ability to further steps rather than deteriorating it.

There has been active discussion about whether the effect of technology on human beings’ thinking ability is advantageous or disadvantageous. Some might say that high reliance on technology deteriorated human beings' thinking ability not allowing them to solve just a simple problem themselves. However, as mentioned in this article, technology has helped us to think more brilliantly. Thus, the given prompt cannot be agreed upon.