The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the given passage, the Maple County council is expecting the restriction of existing farmland development will result in the increase of housing prices with limited further housing supply. However, there are contradicting views among proponents and opponents with totally different cases from two counties, where they already implemented a similar measure, limiting development. It might indicate that there are unwarranted issues which dragged the different results, therefore, in order to properly expect how Maple County’s case will be, several questions have to be answered.

Firstly, were there any significant changes in the population in Chestnut County or Pine County? If the number of residents of Chestnut County has not been significantly changed while that of Pine County has increased almost double, the different result of housing price changes would have been due to the population change. Then, the increment of housing prices will depend on the expectation of population change of Maple County.

Secondly, did Pine County change residences into other types of facilities such as department stores or concert halls? Perhaps Pine County wanted to attract more people to the county to gain money and expand places where the residents can work. However, perhaps they overly changed, and the number of houses became paucity to accommodate all the residents, as result, housing prices increased. If then, the same result will happen to Maple County unless they overly change residences into other types of buildings.

Thirdly, was there huge inflation between 15 years ago and 10 years ago? Probably the nation rapidly grew up until 10 years ago, and it resulted in doubled prices for almost everything including groceries and housing prices. After then, there might be no big differences until the present. If then, the increase of housing prices is irrelevant to the policy, limiting the development of farmland, and it is hard to expect the increase in Maple County unless there is a big economic change in the nation where the county is included.

To sum up, the reason why the two counties resulted in totally different housing price changes might be due to certain situations not clearly mentioned in the reading passage. In order to expect how Maple County’s housing prices will change properly, the council will need to re-investigate how the different results came out according to the questions suggested above.