Should schools monitor students' online activities

With the spread of the internet, the number of students facing undesirable issues online, including cyberbullying, is increasing. In this regard, some people say that schools have to monitor their students' online activities to control their inappropriate internet use. However, I do believe that monitoring them cannot be a great option for the following reasons.

Firstly, schools cannot secure a solid basis for their actions. Monitoring the activities of students is obvious violation of their right to privacy. Thus, to do so, the actions will need to be justified by commonly admitted reasons, such as laws. However, most laws and regulations that currently exist to regulate students' online activities are vague. For example, there is an Illinois Act to prevent cyberbullying and harmful posting. It mentions that schools can take actions to regulate their students when it is reasonable, instead of clearly defining certain situations. If there is no obvious standard to judge the fairness of actions, it will be inevitable to face argues of whether the action was proper. This may even result in a disadvantageous situation to schools, such as happened in Minnesota. Thus, I insist that monitoring students are not a good idea as there are no laws and regulations that will clearly justify schools' actions to monitor students' internet use.

Secondly, investing money to educating students is worthier than monitoring them. The purpose of educating students is to prevent students from misbehaving by letting them know what to do and what not to do. On the other hand, monitoring is more likely to find the users with misbehaviors and punish them. Some young students misbehave just for fun not recognizing how undesirable their actions were. For them, education is the most necessary thing than punishment. On top of that, the cost for educating is more affordable, compared to monitoring many students. Schools are run with confined money, and wise determination of where to spend their money for their students are one of the primary questions. For this reason, I would like to say that schools need to find another way to reduce their students’ online misbehaviors, rather than monitoring them.

Thirdly, schools will not be able to successfully monitor the students’ online activities. The idea of monitoring assume that they will be able to access to all of possible students’ online activities. However, it is impossible. To be specific, many people may have experienced during their childhood that when teachers or parents are trying to prevent them from what they want to do, they would do it secretly rather than not doing it. Similarly, when schools try to regulate students with their internet use, they will find the ways to be out of schools’ supervision by creating secret accounts or buying secret second-handed phones. If then, the schools’ monitoring actions can be useless and just waste of their time and money. Thus, I disagree with the idea of monitoring students to regulate their online activities.

I agree that there will be advantages of monitoring students’ online behaviors to reduce related issues. However, considering its fairness, cost, and expected effect, I believe it would be better to find another way such as educating students about the desirable attitudes to use the internet.