The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the reading passage, it argues that the current rock-music format has to be changed to a popular format such as news or talk. However, in order to evaluate the argument properly, several aspects have to be considered.

Firstly, the decrease in local recorded music sales does not necessarily mean a lack of interest in music. The form to listen to music has been dramatically changed: records, cassette tapes, CDs, and mp3 files. As more and more people use smartphones, fewer people go to music stores to listen to music. Hence, it is hard to think the decline of music sales implies a limited interest in must, as result, the conclusion derived from this fault idea cannot hold water.

Secondly, the increase in the news and talk format can be a not persisting phenomenon. Perhaps a present election was going on, so more people were interested in listening to a news and talk format than usual. Or perhaps the newcomers shortly wanted to get some information about the area in politics, economics, and weathers to adjust to the new circumstance well. If these kinds of special situations terminate, the listeners of that format can be reduced. Then, WWAC will fail to increase the number of listeners. Therefore, in this case, the argument cannot hold water.

Thirdly, the decreased variety of contents on a radio channel is detrimental. If WWAC changes their less popular formats to popular ones, listeners might think the channel is only concentrated on a few formats. Then, only those who want a news or talk format will keep listening to it while others look for another one, which sounds more interesting to them. If then, the goal to increase the number of listeners of WWAC cannot be met, as result, the argument is weakened.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of evidence regarding the three points mentioned above. If the writer fails to provide valid evidence to prove WWAC’s facing case is irrelevant to those, the argument cannot be persuasive.