The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is said that the owners of WWAC believe that for increasing the number of their listeners, they have to decide to change the current rock-music to a news and talk format. This argument has some weaknesses and there are some questions and ambiguities that should be answered.

Firstly, the manager has mentioned in their station the number of listeners has declined and one way to improve this condition is to switch rock music format to a music format that more people are interested in. However, he has pointed that even by this way, the trend of decline has continued regarding to the decrease in local sales of recorded music. The question is that; how does the manager know about the music taste of their listeners? There is no acceptable survey with its results for this subject. Does the manager know about the exact number of people who are a fan rock music or those who are interested in other type of music? There no statistical figures about the number of fans. Have other stations the same problem with their listeners? It is possible that the station of WWAC has some weakness to attract more listeners, such as, lack of good sound quality while playing music or lack of playing updated music.

Secondly, he has mentioned that switching to other format of music cannot solve their problem because of the continuing decline in local sales of recorded music. How does he ensure the decline in local sales is only limited interest in music? One reason can be technology; it is possible that many people especially young ones prefer to listen to the music by their phone instead of buying CD. Many people like to download their favorite songs and have them in their mobiles to listen to them whenever and wherever they want. How has the manager recognized the fans of music are limited? He has failed to prove their words accurately.

He wants to make listeners from new residents. Does he know about the exact number of new residents? Whether or not their number is enough significant compared to the number of current population. Is the change of station format according to these new residents reasonable? How many retired people like to move the city of WWAC station in the year? How does he ensure that these new residents are not interested in music, especially the rock one? How does the manager know that the new residents are fans of a news and talk format? Yet, many old people tend to follow news through the newspapers, as they like a traditional way of getting news.

In conclusion, in my view, the manager has to make a decision after resolving he problem and ambiguities mentioned above.