It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from public.

It is argued that whether it is sometimes necessary state officials to withhold information from public or not. I believe that censoring or hiding information completely depends on the type of it or how much it is confidential. In some certain situations doing such an activity through political authorities is justifiable.

One reason for my fundamental agreement with speaker is that in order to gain opportunity for effective public leadership, a would-be leader must first gain and maintain political power. In the game of politics, complete forthrightness is a sign of vulnerability and naiveté and neither of them bring a politician respect among her/his opponents, and these are features that competitors or opponents will use to defeat the politician. In my observation, many politicians in order to be elected by people try to show their personality completely different from what they really are in their loneliness, and I think it is natural the political personality of authorities differentiates from their real characteristics at home. We have to consider that even among ordinary people how many of them tend to disclose their personal foibles, flaws and problems. Therefore, the information related to the personal life of a leader must be disguised from people. The negative features of a leader in his personal life can affect people’s mind. While this view might be seen cynical, personal scandals have in fact proven the undoing of many political careers, thus I think this view is realistic.

Another reason why I essentially agree with the speaker is that fully disclosing certain types of information to the public would threaten public safety and perhaps even national security. For example, if the president reveals the government’s strategies for thwarting specific plans of international terrorists or drug traffickers, those strategies would surely fail, and the public’s health and safety would be endangered as a result. Withholding information might also be necessary to avoid public panic. While such cases are rare, they occur occasionally. For instance, disputes between countries over issues, such as nuclear weapons that may lead to world war are usually not discussed with the public until the main outcome is known.

However, many times, leaders hide information because they intend to rule the public and take power, in other words, dominate the people. History informs us such leaders with lack of such forthrightness are those who seize and maintain power either by violence or by demagoguery. This situation operates against the democratic principles. A clear example is the behavior of Iranian officials, who try to keep people entertained by violences related to hijab, so that they can make contracts with other countries that may not be popular and keep information hidden from public.

In conclusion, in the game of politics, sometimes it is necessary for leaders not to be honest with people and it can be said that sometimes it is necessary to keep information secret for the success of national and international strategies, but the situation should not be such that leaders misuse it.