People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the we grow old we are exposed to a world full of eclectic opinions and viewpoints, and it becomes a cumbersome task to find our own inclination. I mostly agree with the prompt that a person's behaviour is highly influenced by external forces instead of their own likings. Following are two reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

In today's world, filled with with distractions and opinions, it is a difficult task to stay focussed on our own beliefs, and not vulnerable to the outside forces. An embellished rhetoric with a good articulation can be highly influential in dominating a person's thinking, and thus, impairing his own logical thinking. This characteristic is highly utilised by politicians, leaders, and sometimes even guardians to mould a person's behaviour in accordance to their own will. For instance, during World War II, Hitler was successful in instigating an antipathy for Jews among the Germans, utilising his glib nature and great oratory skills, consequently leading to genocide of millions of Jews. In retrospect, it seems absurd, how a person can fill so much of hatred in the people, and who can be galvanised to killing so many Jews. But, this is the power of rhetoric, and should never be underestimated. This shows that sometimes it is really tough for us to keep our own mentality estranged from the external motivations and forces. Therefore, history teaches us that our behaviour is amenable to outside distractions.

Moreover, when we ourselves are indecisive to certain factor, it leaves us even more susceptible to the other people's opinion. When we are unable to take a stand or stuck in a quandary, this vacillation engenders a feeling which looks for support from other to undertake a decision. For instance, a student who has just finished his high school, and is preparing to enroll in a college degree, mostly faces dilemma regarding what subject to pursue. If he is inclined towards Art courses, but takes up STEM courses which seems to have higher career prospect as defined by the society. Thus, his behaviour towards his likings is influenced by the duress from society's standards of living a good life. Therefore, it important to ruminate over the choices, and define our stand, excluding the pressure from outside forces.

Although, I concede the fact that people have different attitudes towards external factors defining their behaviours, like, some of them are insular in their approach. Their intransigence saves them from being susceptible to other peolple's opinions. However, the population of these people is very less compared to the people who remain vulnerable.

Conclusively, it depends on a person to person how he or she reacts to the extrinsic factors trying to manipulate their behaviour. Some people remain rigid in their own opinions however, history has shown us numerous instances that most of the population remain susceptible to outside forces shaping their attitude and behaviour.