The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the magazine article states that Clearview would be a fascinating place for the public to spend their post-retirement days, but while making this assertion he/she takes into numerous assumptions which might not hold true. Following are three assumptions which might degrade the author's assertion.

First of all, the author states that the housing costs in Clearview have fallen considerably in past year, so this trend will continue this year as well. But, there is no sufficient information provided on how this trend will continue in future as well. Maybe the price reduction which took place last year was just a statistical anomaly or just a regression, and might not happen again. What if the prices, instead of going down, rises in future? This would turn out be a terrible circumstance for the people who have opted to live in Clearview. Thus, these speculations made by the author regarding the prices fails to hold true, and it would not be a best practice to opt for living in an area where the consistency in prices does not exist. Therefore, the author's claim regarding the price reduction does not hold water.

Second of all, the author states that, Clearview's Mayor have made promises to launch a numerous new programs to improve schools, streets and other public services. However, what are the chances that these promises would be full-filled? It is normal for a demagogues to make false promises before the elections, and which are in fact not feasible in practical scenarios. Maybe, the infrastructure, instead of developing as per Mayor's promise, worsens. Thus, there is need for evidence that, these promises made by the Mayor are practical and would be full-filled in the coming future. However, the author does not provide any supporting information regarding this, therefore his/her claim regarding the infrastructure development is frivolous.

Finally, the author states that, there are a lot of physicians residing (compared to the national average) in that and it would helpful for general public. While this claim looks promising, but there's no sufficient data provided regarding the medical facilities and infrastructure. Just having an abundant physicians does not mean that the general health care of that area is exceptional. What if the the people getting sick need modern sophisticated medical facilities which might not be present in Clearview, and in that case the patient would be shifted to hospital in the nearby place where that facility is present. This will put the lives in jeopardy, as the time taken in shifting might turn fatal. Consequently, the author's argument is not valid in general scenario.

In conclusion, the author have made numerous assumptions regarding the cost reduction, promises of development and medical facilities available in the area. However, these arguments are lacking substantial evidences regarding their practical feasibility. Therefore as a whole author's claim that Clearview would be great place to enjoy retirement is not valid.