Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

As we live in a sophisticated and cosmopolitan world, with diverse moral principles and conventions, it is important to develop logical reasoning skill to question these conventions and orthodoxy. I agree with the prompt that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society rather than teaching morality as the foundation of the education. Follow are two reasons and a concession provided to support this thesis.

Firstly, teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would inculcate a habit of logically analysing the situation, and empirically taking a decision. This helps in developing a progressive character among the children, as they start question the orthodox nature of the society. This iconoclastic behaviour will in turn favour the dynamics of the society to push it in the direction of progress. For instance, dialectical materialism is concept put contributed by different philosophers, suggests that a perfect solution to a problem or an argument can drawn by having dialects based on material qualities of the world, which is the logic. Like, debating culture will enhance the working of an authority, as people will ask logical questions, instead of getting cajoled by moral principles, and consequently, augmenting the morality. Moreover, sometimes just morals principles does not get the work done. There's need to bend a few laws, which might work for the betterment of the society in broader picture. Therefore, it is important of logically analyse and, take decision for welfare of the people. Consequently, logical reasoning outcasts morality as the indispensable quality to have.

Secondly, moral principles are always subjective, and thus, might have a different opinions among different people. As a society, we want to eradicate the dogmas affecting the development and progress. A situation might have different opinions, like two sides of a same coin, and, it gets really tough to negotiate a common solution for a people of different views. For example, Homosexuality was considered a sin by the conventional religious people of different religions. Moreover, it was also considered to be disease by some orthodox section of the society. But, after support from scientific people have started logically analysing the situation, consequently Homosexuality is getting approved in many nations around the world. This example presents that sometimes morals and principle are not enough to judge a situations, as they remain hidebound. And, a logical reasoning provide a more versatile solution.

Thirdly, some people in some specific situation might argue that having a moral values is paramount to preserving one's culture and conventions. But, as we live in an eclectic world, different culture have different conventions, therefore, it important to have a common ground. And, logical reasoning justifying serves this purpose.

Conclusively, it is essential to inculcate logical reasoning among children, rather than just giving them the a lecture on morality, as it will help them question the orthodoxy, and pushing the society in forward direction.