Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Education is an extremely crucial part of and individual's childhood, because it is what sets up the base and foundation for him to lead a successful and satisfied life. Whatever we learn in our formative years is what shapes our lives ahead. Hence it is extremely crucial that a proper foundation of education is given to every individual, so that they can then go on to fulfill their dreams. There may be contrasting opinions about what should be the base of education. According to some people, teaching morality should be the core of education, whereas according to others education should underlie a foundation of logical thinking. In my opinion only one out of the two is not sufficient for the holistic development of a child. Hence I can not completely side with either views in this, education according to me should entail both logical reasoning as well as moral teachings.

Moral teaching is extremely crucial in education because it is what forms the basis of all decisions. A person may be of highly knowledgeable and adroit but if ultimately his decisions in life are not morally correct, he will not be able to lead a successful life for long. Morals and ethics are the fundamental units of our lives. Basic concepts like honesty, integrity, fairness etc. are what enable us to live a gregarious and peaceful life. A person could be extremely successful but if the means to his end are not morally correct he ultimately would not be contempt with his life. Thus moral teaching is extremely important for producing a moral society. If everyone starts making only unprincipled and unethical decisions, the society would soon turn into a collection of reprobates. For example in business, every decision or policy along with being profitable should also be ethical because that is what helps in running a successful business in the long run. Like the industrialist Vijay Mallya was the owner of kingfisher airlines and a very successful entrepreneur, but he committed financial embezzlement and now along with facing a bankruptcy is also on the run from the Indian Police. Thus it is extremely important the teach morality.

On the other hand logical reasoning is also extremely important for the growth and learning of a person. Without learning how to think logically a person will never be able to practice critical thinking or analysis which form the founding steps to solve any problem. Logical reasoning will set a child up for a successful future where in he will be able to solve all kinds of problems from trivial to complex based on critical asessment. This is what will enable a person to make a fair decision while being dispassionate. For example for an engineer, logical reasoning is extremely crucial to solve day to day problems. Even for a businessman logical thinking is crucial to strategize business plans and run a successful companies. Hence based on logical thinking a moral society will be produced where everyone makes critical decisions while being unemotional or unjust.

Hence according to me as substantiated above, both logical reasoning and moral teaching are extremely crucial to the development and growth of an individual. So the foundation of education should be layed as a mixture of both in equal proportion, moral teaching perfectly balancing out logical reasoning and vice versa. Equipped with both the skills, will an individual be able to lead a successful life. For example a successful and revered politician or leader of the nation is the one who formulates logically correct policies for the benefit of the nation but also never strays away from the morally correct path.

Hence in conclusion, in my opinion I can't agree with only one viewpoint and a perfect mixture of both is required to produce a moral society.