Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art is and always has been a very integral part of our history and culture. Every age and time has been defined by its art almost as much as it is defined by its scientific discoveries. Hence since art is a crucial part of human existence, it is essential that the government invest in it as much as they do in the military. The military might be supremely important for the safety and security of the people of a nation, but art in its own way is deserves an equal share in importance and investment.

Primarily, art is extremely crucial for cultural development. Art helps in promoting and defining the culture of a society as it a form of creative expression. A lot of communities, tribes have their own unique definitive art. Several past ages are defined by their art like the renaissance era art, art post the french revolution etc. A lot of our history and past culture has only been known to us through the art created in those times, such as the art during the Mughal rule in India, or the art during the Napoleon rule. Hence. art is extremely important because people might die but art lives on. So it is a very crucial source of historical footprint. If art is not invested and promoted in todays times we will not be able to leave a impression on the future ages. Also if art is not invested in, various indigenous art forms and the culture of certain societies will be lost.

Art is also essential for creative development of the society as a whole. Art is what helps promote the development of the creative or the right side of the brain. Without art, we would be left with only scientific and critical thinking without any emotional expression. It is essential for the holistic development of a person. Art also helps in inducing cathartic relief and heals people in a certain way since its a form of expression of our unsaid feelings. A lot of depressed or anxiety ridden people have found solace in art. For example, often during stressful situations, simply painting or dancing have helped me calm down.

Promotion and investment in art is also required, since without it a lot of extremely talented artists would not be recognized or valued. Prodigies of art would not be identified nor be celebrated. For example, only because patrons kings and the wealthy have supported and promoted art a lot of famous artists and their works have been celebrated, such as Leonardo Da Vinci's famous Mona Lisa or Beethoven and Mozart's compositions. Without investment, the talent and skill of several prodigies would be ignored.

Therefore, art is what enriches our lives and makes it beautiful. It is what helps us lead a peaceful, and satisfied life. So it is vital that the government invests in it as much as they do in the military because it is food for the soul. Otherwise, the world will miss out on several artists and their scintillating pieces of work.