Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In an office set up, the email is used as the mandatory source of all official correspondence. Form work updates, to client correspondence, to meeting invites, as well as minutes of the meeting etc. are conveyed via the email. The policy of conducting a routine monitoring of all employee e-mail in such a situation will require the employment of a huge amount of resources. Hence, in my opinion it is not required since it will end up being more insolvent than profitable to the company.

Firstly, the routine monitoring of all the employees working in a particular company especially if its a multinational company with thousands of people working there will turn out to be an extremely arduous process. The technology required for this kind of vigilance is expensive and for its implementation it will have to be installed in each individual device that is used in the company which can turn out to be quite laborious. For example, a screen monitoring web application will have to be installed in each desktop or laptop separately. Therefore, instead of this policy reducing the waste of resources of the company it will further drain it out.

The email correspondence application also is used only for sending written pieces of texts between users. It usually has the necessary features for only exchanging information and sending meeting invites. Thus, this software does not really have any attributes of entertainment that can be used to waste time or resources of the company. Also, usually a company's personal email app's features only enable exchanging information between the employees connected to the companies cloud and hence can not be used for any malpractices either. So monitoring such correspondence will usually be a nugatory effort as most employees use email only for official communication while they use other messaging apps like WhatsApp for more personal exchanges.

Monitoring every single email correspondence between every single employee throughout the day can also be an extremely cumbersome process. If every person sends even 10 emails a day (the number will be much more, since all official communication is conveyed through the email only), and there are about 10,000 employees in a particular company, that is 1,00,000 messages that need to be monitored throughout the day. This can be an extremely time consuming process thus leading to the opposite of the intended effect of reducing the wastage of time and system capacity.

Instead of this policy, according to me a more effective policy would be to conduct surprise checks of email correspondence with a certain fine or penalty attached to any malpractices found. This would instill a fear in the employees and cause the intended effect of not using the email for any correspondence that can cause harm to the company or engage it in lawsuits. It would also lead to a reduce in the wastage of resources such as time, system capacity or the costs involved.