Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Monitoring and surveillance conducted across the organization is a factor that every organization relies on. In fact, it is uncommon for companies to do a systematic scan of all their resources and the technology used. The prompt recommends that firms not be lethargic in keeping track of outgoing and incoming e-mails. I strongly agree with this suggestion that companies do routine monitoring of employee e-mails to detect any inappropriate emails and protect them from any lawsuits or a virus.

To begin with, many employees misuse the mail system frequently. They send inappropriate emails to their colleagues and to their juniors and harass them in one way or another. For example, a senior employee has been assigned a task and instead of taking responsibility he or she is handing out it to a fresher or intern and threatening them to complete it as soon as possible or the reviews forwarded to HR will be not in the intern's favor. Further, managers could also offer female employees to do inappropriate tasks in return for bigger hikes and promotions. Such behavior and harassment should not be tolerated by anyone and if any such incidents should be stopped from its root and terminate the employee responsible for the same.

In addition, new technology has been developed where hackers sent a link through the mail and deploy a virus into the system. Businesses with sensitive information should be careful and have proper measures to avoid any information leaks. For instance, the government outsources many internal projects to different companies which requires a lot of sensitive and risky information. Many competitors being jealous or to destroy the reputation of their opponent hire hackers to get the information and reveal everything publicly. Such situations are highly possible due to new technology being developed every second and it should be stopped it protects the business from any lawsuits.

Of course, some argue that in our increasingly sophisticated environment employees could respect a sense of professionalism and trust from their firm. However, isn't that precisely why any employees should be professional and not misuse the assets given to them by the business? If they do so, they are likely to do the best job possible. Furthermore, monitoring every asset will help the company in growing bigger and have no bad reputation.