Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Our society flourishes when supported by the new developments and technology. As one can observe from the history, we as a society have lived our best periods in an environment that promotes free-thinking. Improvement in science can be achieved if it is not restricted by the government. I strongly agree with this suggestion and support that no restrictions should be placed on researchers and scientists in research and development field.

To begin with, development of the science research would enable the society to reach a better level. The very fundamental basis of scientific research is discovering the unknown, the curiosity of which has accelerated the growth of a man over centuries. For instance, sending human beings to moon was the biggest breakthrough of the century. Had it been, restricted by the government to undertake such risky and costly project we would have never gained an insight of these vast and intriguing unknown realms. Research and development improves our way of life and helps us understand the nature. However, restricting reaserchers and scientist would mean slowing our growth and development in scientific advancement.

In addition, research and development is the only ally for curing disease and creating vaccines for deadly unexpected diseases. It helps people with disabilities to live a normal and even productive life to the highest extent possible. For instance, restricting the funds for searching a cure of COVID-19 not only delay the process of finding a vaccine but also cause health crisis to the society. It would stress out each and every country affected by the disease and create social, economic and political effects that will leave deep and longstanding scars. The above example illustrates that the world is a highly contingent upon unpredictable factors and we should be ready for an unexpected future. Hence, placing any restrictions in RnD (Research and Development) would make our growth slower to be prepared for the next pandemic.

Of course, there are always issues of dangerous and harmful scientific discoveries and we should be wary. However, the restrictions should not be expanded since they would generate economic value for governments in the long term. Furthermore, attempt to restrict the researchers would only insult them and their work.