Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Imagination can be constrained by external opinions and majorly due to personal experiences. Expericenced people move forward with these opinion but there is an ongoing debate. The prompt recommends that inexperienced people have more imagination power because there are no restrictions or any conventional habits implied on them, which make their imagination ability a more valuable asset than their short time of experience. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that experiences do restrict our capacity to imaging more.

To begin with, freshers are hired everywhere so that they could have a new set of eyes and a new perspective on their products. These fledglings do not have any idea about the politics and the business outlook they are just focused on one thing that is the project assigned to them. For instance, a recent computer science undergraduate is hired in a technical company which develops mobile phones. As, the fresher will try to develop this product and give some random and extraordinary ideas that the senior developers could not think of because their mind in now restricted to think in one way only. Hence, the junior developer will give the ideas which will be helpful to his generation and therefore may be used for next set of generations.

Additionally, an inexperienced person may think of scenarios which will help in solving crimes and even complicated surgeries. For example, in India, a MBBS student from AIIMS college was helping a senior surgeon perfor cardiac surgery even after 10 hours the doctor was not able to figure out the problems due to his conventional way of thinking. The student after giving it a look for few minutes figured out the problem and suggested the same to his senior. Further, he was awarded with huge cash prize and also the doctor promised for person training sessions and be his mentor.

Of course, some argue that having experience improves your imagination because the person will know the situation in entirety and help in solving the problem quickly. However, these people mistake their suggestions as their imagination. All our seniors may have their suggestions which may help the imagination of a newbie to not go in wrong path. Thereforce, the reason provided for the above claim is valid.