The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, it is stated that to attract more viewership and local advertisements for the news programs the author plans to restore the previous year's time period devoted to weather and local news. The business manager has come to this conclusion due to the cancellation of advertising contracts as well as complaints received from the viewers. However, three questions must be answered before this recommendation can be properly evaluated.

First of all, what are the types of complaints? In other words, are the complaints related to less time coverage of local and weather news? It is possible that the criticism received may be due to wrongly telecasts of the news. Further, there is a possibility that the quality of local news may have been degraded and been limited to just two or three areas. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what is the reason behind the recall of advertising contracts? The writer has not mentioned any details regarding why the local entrepreneurs have withdrawn their advertising. It is possible that there is a global pandemic going on which is reducing their revenue and the owners have decided not to invest in any type of advertising. It is also possible that the news channel may have reduced the on-screen time and increased the prices of the advertisement more than the local businesses can afford which caused the withdrawal of the contracts. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, has the main late-night speaker left the channel? The author has not mentioned the reason for the reduction in the viewership of their late-night news programs. It is possible that the most beloved speaker may have shifted to a different news channel which in turn resulted in the transfer of the viewership to another channel. Further, the new speaker assigned for late-night news may not be as competent as the previous one. Perhaps, the audience watching the news may not be interested in the content provided the by the channel. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwanted assumptions, If the author is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to increase coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs.