Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, it is stated that a greater budget should be allocated next year to reach the public through advertising as the reviews from the movie reviewers are better and the watching of people has decreased. The author thinks that the problem is not with the quality of their movie but it is the lack of awareness of the public. However, before this suggestion can be properly evaluated, three assumptions have to be analyzed.

First of all, how much have the viewers decreased from the past year? In other words, are they comparable? It is possible that viewers have decreased by just a small percentage - perhaps last year there was a movie which was most awaited by everyone and it was hyped and advertised a lot by the producer of the movie. Further, there is a possibility that there has been a new movie production company and everyone is excited to see what this new company has to offer the audience. If either of these scenarios is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, who are these movie reviewers? Are they bribed? The author has not mentioned any details about the reviewers about how accurate their reviews and how authentic they are. It is possible that they have been bribed by the company to give positive reviews to their produced movies to increase the publicity and to gain the attention of more audience. Further, there is a possibility that the movie reviewers are authentic and the reviews given are accurate but such good movies produced by the company are lesser than the bad movies produced by the production company. So the people watching are not so excited to even watch the movies which are really good because their expectations are lowered due to bad movie production. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, Is there any survey of the audience who have watched the movie, and what are their reviews on the same? The author has not mentioned anything about the reviews of the audience who have watched the movies which is the most logical and considerate thing to do before investing money in public advertising. It is possible that the audience has hated the movie and reviewers have liked it. Perhaps the audience is not interested in watching more of the content provided by the production company.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance of unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study) for the above situations, then it is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation to invest money on public advertising.