The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, it is stated that to attract more viewers and local advertisements the manager plans to increase their time covering weather and local news on all their news programs. The business manager has come to this conclusion due to the cancellation of advertising contracts as well as complaints received from the viewers. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what are the types of complaints? In other words, are the complaints related to less time coverage of local and weather news? It is possible that the criticism received is due to the wrong telecast of the news. Further, there is a possibility that the quality of local news has degraded and has been limited to just two or three areas. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what is the reason behind the recall of advertising contracts? The writer has not mentioned any details about why the local entrepreneurs have withdrawn their advertising. It is possible that there is a global pandemic going on which in turn is causing a major drop in the revenue which is causing them to not spend on advertisements. It is also possible that the news program may have increased the prices and reduced the time of advertisements which cause a major withdrawal of the contracts. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, has the main late-night speaker left the company? The author has not mentioned the reason for the reduction in viewership for their late-night news programs. It is possible that the most beloved speaker who used to show up on late-night shows has shifted to a different news channel which in turn resulted in the transfer of the viewership to another channel. Further, the new speaker assigned for late-night news may not be as competent as the previous one. Perhaps, the audience is not interested in watching more of the content provided by the channel. If either of these scenarios has evidence, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to increase coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs.