College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The choice of one's field of study is not a trivial one. Most student's move forward with their interests and passion, but there is an ongoing debate. The prompt recommends that aspiring college students should decide their future paths on the current availability of jobs in the world. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should look inwards and pursue their interests for two reasons.

To begin, job market is ever shifting and our society grows within this environment. Yesterday's popular job may not be today's most favoured profession. For instance, in the past, people used to work in various factories for sewing clothes or arranging parts for automobiles. Nowadays, everything is been automated through robots and people have shifted to programming and data science to learn more about automation and it's uses. Hence, students trying to grab these conventional jobs which may seem attractive for now may not be the one which will make you successful.

Additionally, students should pursue their own interests and decide their goals accordingly. If a student is dedicated enough they will definitely make a greatest discovery and change the perspective of the whole world. For example, majority of people did not consider automation or vehicles running on battery power. Elon Musk started Tesla and pursued his interests and achieve his goals and proved everyone wrong. Now, everyother automobile company has started working on developing their own Electric Vehicles and is trying to compete with Tesla. Therefore, students who are specifically scared of pursuing their goals should take these real life examples which will motivate them and their project or an idea could be the biggest breakthrough of the century.

Of course, some argue that not going the standard method may be scary and also may lead to failures. However, unless and until someone does not give themselves a chance, they will be stuck in this endless loop of ever-shifting job market.