To understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In develo

Critical characteristics of any society lie in traditional places. However, it is not uncommon for tourists or even natives to travel to places that positively reflect the culture of their country. The prompt recommends that to study the long-established customs one must explore more about the major cities. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that one must look inward rather than outward when researching more about the important characteristics of society for two reasons.

Firstly, all major cities where urbanization and development have taken a faster pace are now converting into major political and technological centers. People all around the world are now traveling to developed countries to begin a quiet and steady life by getting a regular job. For example, every major city like Mumbai in India or Paris in France provides the best amenities and facilities, which attracts more and more people to improve their socioeconomic status. Due to commercialization and the growing need of each city to compete with each other in the race to be the best, they are not capable of capturing the true essence of their society.

Secondly, small towns and rural cities provide a closer look into the cultural heritage. More than 70 percent of the native population lives in those towns. These towns offer the most visible characteristics of a society and the role played by it in history. For example, small towns like Nashik in India still have preserved the stories and relics from the era when gods lived with their ancestors till the second world war. All traditions are still been followed which shows how the ancestors used to live and the festivals are also celebrated with the importance they had in history. To truly understand the society and background, it is necessary to visit the countryside and further explore the cities to learn more about their culture, heritage, and past.

Of course, some argue that the study of the capitals of every country sums up all the features and displays them precisely in museums or art galleries. However, isn't that precisely why we should visit and study more about the rural area? If we do so, we are likely to learn more about the culture, not the one fabricated for everyone's interest. Furthermore, studying rural cities is always a must in understanding the most important characteristics of a society.