The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this letter, it is stated that Kensington students will bring their own unhealthy lunchboxes instead of eating the cafeteria's healthy food which will result in serious health consequences. The parent has come to this conclusion due to his son and his friend's complaints about the lunch options provided by the school cafeteria. However, three questions must be answered before the argument can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, what are the types of complaints? In other words, are the complaints related to the options provided during lunch? It is possible that the criticism received may be due to the pale food provided. Further, there is a possibility that students are not happy about similar choices provided by the school every day. If either of these scenarios holds merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do all the parents and students want the same? It is possible that many households are paying a hefty fee to the school to provide lunches to their children. The majority of parents expect that school will take responsibility for proper hygiene and good food. Further, it is also possible that the rest of the students are enjoying the lunch options provided by the school. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, how will the students bring unhealthy lunches? The parent prematurely assumes that every student will have their own less healthy lunches. However, this might not be the case. Parents won't allow or give allowances to their children to buy street food. Further, there is a possibility that teachers do not allow their students to go off-premise during school hours. If either of these scenarios holds true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance of unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic way), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to replace Swift with another vendor.