The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The principal of Kensington Academy received a recommendation from a student's parent to switch the cafeteria's vendor, Swift Nutrition, in order to prevent the students from facing serious health consequences. The parent has come to this conclusion based on her son and his friend's experience not liking the low-fat, low-calorie food served by the vendor, and claims she has to give him unhealthy food for this reason. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, would the parent's son and his friends taste palette apply to the taste of all students as Kensington academy? Perhaps, her son and his friends have a predilection for fried and fatty foods. It may be possible that the a majority of the students actually find the food served by Swift Nutrition palatable. If the above holds true, then the parent's proposal holds no water.

Secondly, if students don't enjoy the cafeteria food, would they bring unhealthy food from home? In other words, would parents readily send unhealthy food for their kids if the cafeteria food doesn't suit their taste palette? It could be possible that most parents are also concerned for the child's health, and would take some effort to only prepare healthy foods to substitute the cafeteria food. There is also a potential that many parents may not be able to send food for their kids due to their unavailability or no house help available - this would compel students to devour the low-fatty and low-calorie cafeteria meals available. If either of these scenarios hold merit, the conclusion drawn by the parent is significantly weakened.

To add to this, if students end up bringing unhealthy food for recess, would this pose a serious health risk for them? The parent prematurely assumes that high-calorie food is unhealthy and leads to health concerns. However, this may not be the case. Students might have a high participation in sports and physical exertion, which requires a high calorie intake to avoid a calorie deficit. Also, consuming higher calorie food may just make students a bit fatter - this would not be a serious health concern. If the above situations hold true, the parent's proposal is considerably flawed.

In conclusion, the recommendation proposed by the parent, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the parent is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a school-wide survey), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to replace the current cafeteria vendor, Swift Nutrition, at Kensington Academy.