The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night new program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The business manager of a television station has sent out a memorandum to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The business manager came to this conclusion based on the complaints from viewers about the coverage of these news and the cancelling of advertising contracts for late-night news programs. He/She has come to this decision with the hope of increasing advertising revenue and attracting more viewers. However, before this decision can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, how much content is there of weather and local news? In other words, is there enough content for weather and local news to promulgate to the people over a longer duration? It is possible that there is very little happening locally that may be interest of viewers. There may be less fluctuations in weather to share about. Further, there is a possiblity that there is a lot of chaos nationally that generates content in surfeit. If the above scenarios could hold true, the business manager's memorandum may not be the most prudent.

Secondly, would a reduction in advertising not have a reverse effect? Perhaps, a reduction in advertising would reduce the idle time during news announcements, in turn, attracting more interest from viewers. It could so happen that viewers tend to start watching news more after learning the less number of tedious advertisements to watch. There is a possibility that this increased viewership would increase the cost of advertising, leading to a rise in advertising revenue. If the above is true, the original argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, how directly can we link the reduction of late-night advertising to the lower coverage of weather and local news? There is a potential that adveritisers pulled out from their displays late-night due to lower amount of late-night watchers in general. It could so be that their target audience or the masses they want to address to would be more inclined to watching the news during the day. If these links cannot be directly related, then the decision made by the manager does not hold water.

In conclusion, the memorandum, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the business manager of the television station is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of user-specific and company-specific surveys), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed action to restore the time devoted for weather and local news to its previous levels.