The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night new program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the complaint

From the memorandum, the manager claims that the station should recover the time schedule for the news program as same as before the renovation. This is based on the complaint about the coverage of the weather and local news that the station received in that period and the canceled advertising contract with advertisers. This, however, lack some supportive evidence to be convincing.

Firstly, the manager claims this as he or she assumes that the less air time of the weather and local news brings about less coverage and consequently receives complaints. This cannot convince the reader to believe as the manager did not provide more information about the details of complaints and the number of it whether the number is shooting significantly or without significant after renovation time programs. If the station has received complaints like this before the renovation and the number is not different between and after adjusting air time, it cannot be concluded that the complaints are related to the renovation and that the manager's recommendation will result in a positive side.

Another thing is that the manager assumes that because of the decrease in local and weather news, the advertisers cancel the contract. This is another flaw in the assumption as the manager did not realize the timing of the contract. On the other hand, even if the manager's assumption is true, the increase in national news should bring another group of advertisers. Therefore, this seems to be lacking in reason.

In addition, the manager lacks in thinking of other possible reasons for the decrease in the late-night news program. Another possible explanation for this may be that another station just renovate the pattern of the program and this is fresher and more interesting than this station. Even if there is no adjusting in air time, the viewers may not watch this station as the present seems to be old-fashioned.

In conclusion, the manager's recommendation that the station should bring back the time schedule is not reason enough to apply as it lacks some convincing premise to support it.