The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

The president of Climpson Industries received a recommendation from their human resources vice president to monitor employees’ internet use at their workstations to enhance productivity and profits. The human resources vice president has come to this conclusion based on a recent national survey that cited internet access at work has been misused for personal and recreational activities, as well as that monitoring their internet access would lead to them wasting less time and being more productive. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, would a national survey apply to Climpson Industries? In other words, can a generalised recommendation for various companies be suited to work well for Climpson Industries? It is possible that this would not apply to Climpson Industries at all - perhaps the survey was conducted for companies in the software industry, while Climpson Industries is a corporate-facing company. Further, there is a possibility that the national survey was rigged - relying on its authenticity and results would be imprudent. If either of these scenarios hold merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, would preventing employees from using the internet for personal activities at their workstations be efficacious in reducing overall time wasted? The human resources vice president prematurely assumes that employees majorly waste time while using the internet for recreation. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, the company employees would seek other sources of entertainment, such as chatting with counterparts and participating in indoor games to substitute for this lost pleasure. If the above is true, then the recommendation does not hold water.

In conclusion, the recommendation, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the human resources vice president of Climpson Industries is able to answer the two questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a company-specific survey), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to electronically monitor the internet usage of Climpson Industries employees at their workstations.