Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

There are multiple methods as to how companies interact with each other. The ideal documented mode followed is the e-mail. The prompt recommends company management to intermittently monitor employee e-mail in order to use less resources, save on time and system usage, and act as a shield for company lawsuits. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that company employees should not be continuously monitored in this manner for two reasons.

To begin, tracking employee e-mails in this way is a complete invasion of privacy. Thus, checking every e-mail of their's in this way would make employees unsatisfied and reduce job satisfaction as a whole. For instance, if a gay employee that works for a bakery sends out promotion e-mails to customers, but also uses his e-mail to organise PRIDE meet-ups. This employee may not have opened up about his sexuality to the company. This secret may thus spread gradually within the workplace, and the more orthodox folks might make his life a living hell. On learning that all his e-mails are monitored, he may be so protective of his secret, that he may leave the company immediately. The above example illustrates how monitoring private e-mails of employees can endanger and cause great resentment among employees due to invasion of their private space. People live different private and professional lives. Compelling employees to share all their e-mail communications and trusting the ones who monitor this would not be the most prudent decision.

Further, even if we assume that the privacy of employees are not looked into, how would the monitoring of employee e-mail save up on resources? This decision would, in turn, increase the labour employed for this monitoring, consequently, leading to an increase in time spent by the company. For instance, if a bakery only employs bakers and one receptionist, who also sends out promotional e-mails. To monitor the e-mails of the receptionist, the bakery would have to add up a whole new employee to their salary bill. This would, in turn, increase the amount of time, money and effort spent by the bakery in this task. System capacity would also be doubled due to a further allocation of a system to the employee responsible for monitoring. This example lucidly depicts how this additional monitoring tasks adds to labour and adds up to the time and system capacity.

Of course, some argue that having a close watch on company e-mail would lead to a reduction in the number of lawsuits filed against the company. However, would this step not lead to an overall increase to this as a whole? By invading employee privacy and trusting the employee responsible for monitoring, rumours may spread of their private lives, leading to company dissatisfaction and a rise in company lawsuits. In addition to this, system capacity and time are irrelevantly spent and hinders the resources to be put to better use elsewhere. Passing mandates to check up on employees in this manner would be a waste and serve to the downfall of the company.