The best way for a society is to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The growth of the young is susceptible to the teachings professed to them early on. These teachings shape the character and future of the youth in society. This prompt recommends societies to instill in today's young generation, a sense of cooperation instead of competition. In my opinoin, I disagree with this suggestion to restrict competition for three reasons.

To begin, one of the major factors that prepares youth to excel is competition, which provides an aim that motivates them. For instance, when a young candidate is striving to gain leadership in a government post and has competition for this, they push themselves to their limits and promise better services to the public to gain favour in voting. This enhances the output of the leader and works for the betterment of the society. As illustrated by the example above, competition imbibes in the young, a sense of willingness to do better, and it would improvise the output of all industries.

To add to this, young leaders should be provided of a methodology to be aware of their performance so that they can evaluate themselves. Let us say a student who leads a team in answering a quiz. If scores weren't provided and teams weren't compared, how would the team know of their performance? If a team scores poorly in a quiz, they would continue to do so, as they are unaware of their failures. If they were notified of their performances, they would spend extra time in preparation and favourably achieve better results. This example depicts how a lack of competition would create a sense of unawareness, and would obscure the performances of the young, leading to poorly developed leaders of the future.

Further, even if we give increased importance to cooperation, why do competition and cooperation have to supplant each other? Society should promote both of these prinicples, which are of concordant importance. For example, for young leaders of the sports council of different houses of the school, competition should be encouraged by arranging inter-house events to push the youth to lead their houses better with the trophy as bait. Hand in hand, when these same leaders represent their schools together, they are bound to cooperate with each other to improve the efficacy and performance of their team. The above example conveys how young leaders can be trained to incoroporate both cooperation and competition, which would lead to a better overall development.

Of course, some would argue that competition would result in dispute among young leaders. However, what is the point of avoiding dispute when the leaders are themselves not delivering on funcamental requirements? The cohesion of cooperation and competition, can develop precocious individual into the best furute leaders of our society.