The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Superior Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company sent out a memo to allocate a greater share of its budget next year for advertising to the public. He/she has arrived at this conclusion based on a recent report from the marketing department that claims fewer attendees arrived at their movies last year, despite the percentage of positive reviews. However, before this decision can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firt of all, how could the fewer attendees be justified as due to a lack of public awarensess? In other words, could there not be an external factor that led to a reduced audience? It could be possible that there has been an increased interest among the public for home theatres, resulting in lesser turnout during their public screenings. There is a potential that services such as food and seating at theatres has not been upto the mark, discouraging people from attending screenings. If any of the above scenarios hold merit, the advertising director's claim does not hold water.

Secondly, could there not be other interpretations of a greater percentage of positive reviews? Perhaps, only viewers who develop a slight liking for the movie, end up rating it. 3 out of 5 stars might be considered positive, though the percentage of 5 star ratings might have dropped considerably. The average merit of the content might only be attracting a selected number of viewers, unlike a blockbuster movie. Should this interpretation be true, the argument posed by the director is significantly weakened.

Additionally, should we not take into account the implications of increasing the budget for advertising? It is probable that due to a trimmed budget allocation for content creation, the quality of movies might drop, causing a decline in audience turnout. If this situation occurs, the decision of the advertising director might backfire.

To conclude, the recommendation, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a survey covering feedback for other production companies as well), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to allocate greater budgets for advertising to the public.