The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter written by the parent to the Kensington Academy, the parent concluded that the reason why the children did not enjoy their meals is that the food served by Swift Nutrition contains low-fat and low-calorie. While the conclusion made by the parent could be valid, it is based on some unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, would dramatically weaken the conclusion. Thus, the following three questions need to be properly answered in order to espouse the conclusion made by the parent.

Firstly, was there an agreement between Kensington Academy and Swift Nutrition on the type of meal to be served to students? The parent presumed that the school must have had an agreement with Swift Nutrition on the meal type. Perhaps the school just hired the private vendor due to poor management by the previous vendor without necessarily considering the quality of food the vendor would serve the students. It is also possible that the school is fully aware of and in support of the food served by the new vendor. If the above is the case, then the parent's conclusion has been significantly hampered.

Furthermore, does food containing low-fat and low-calorie translate directly into unenjoyable food for the students? The parent assumed that the reason why students do not enjoy their meal is because it contains low-fat and low-calorie. Perhaps, the students only complained because of the monotonous state of the meal and not necessarily because of the food content. Maybe they do not enjoy the meal because it is usually served late and in a 'cold state', thereby causing the students not to enjoy their meal. If the above holds true, then the parent should rather complain to the school management about fixing the dishing time of the meal.

Lastly, is replacing Swift Nutrition tantamount to a change in the meal served to the students? The parent believed that changing the vendor would result to an enjoyable meal for the students. Perhaps, food item containing low-fat and low-calorie are the cheapest to get and are in conformity with the school's standard. It is also possible that food containing low-fat and low-calorie are the healthiest food according to the school's nutritionist expert. provided that the above cases hold water, then the parents conclusion can not 'fly'.

In conclusion, the above three questions on the agreement between the Academy and the vendor, the food type that is enjoyable by the students, and whether replacing the vendor would lead to a change of meal course must be addressed in order that, the parents conclusion may 'hold water'.