Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

From the above prompt, the author concludes that Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child because they have the most intensive program, their teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world and many of their students later became professional dancers. However, these conclusions are unwarranted due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, does being able to dance in prestigious ballet companies mean directly that one can teach the kids to become good dancers? Even though the teachers have danced in the most prestigious companies, they may not necessarily be able to teach the kids to know how to dance as well as expected. Perhaps, the teachers were only good as an athlete but not as teachers, perhaps the teachers stop practicing the 'art' themselves after they started teaching.

Secondly, is the intensity of the program commensurate for all the kids? Considering the fact that learning ability varies from individual to individual. Maybe, the school was fortunate to have a high number of students with high attention span and are able to withstand the intensity of the programs in previous years. Intensive programs which could assist students to become adept in any field could simultaneously have adverse negative effects on the some students, especially those with little attention span.

Lastly, is there any evidence that the students from Pirouettes Ballet School who became professional dancers with top dance companies did not enroll in another program to hone their dancing skill? Although, it is possible that Pirouettes Ballet School have given the students the requisite knowledge required to understand and practice the basics of the ballet dance, perhaps many of those who became professional enrolled in another program which assisted them to later become professional dancers. Perhaps, they had natural interest in the ballet dance and took out the time to further learn the 'art' on their own which ultimately assisted them to become professionals in the field.

While it is possible that Pirouettes Ballet School might be a clear choice for any child, the conclusion made by the author is flawed based on the above mentioned assumptions and therefore, the assumptions can not hold any water as to supporting the conclusion made by the author.