Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development have been one of the major means of progression in different façade of knowledge. For a country to be progressive, it has to be at the forefront in terms of scientific research and development. The prompt recommends that government should restrict, if any, scientific research and development. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that the governments should rather not instill any restrictions on scientific research and development for two reasons.

To begin, bogus information is a possibility when it comes to scientific research and development. In an effort by the governments to mitigate or completely eradicate misinformation due to poorly conducted researches, restrictions could be placed on the researchers ensuring basic requirements are meant before publications could be made. For example, only duly accredited publishing companies would be allowed to publish in scientific journals. This would help to ensure that the publications are properly censored and could only have been conducted scientifically.

However, even though restrictions are meant to serve as a control measure for scientific research and development, their existence may serve to frustrate efforts of researchers when it comes to publications. And publications are the usual means of communicating findings by researchers. If due to restrictions put in place by the government, the number of publishing platforms are limited, then, research findings would also be limited as the little available publishing platforms may not be capable of serving the researchers especially in areas with high research prowess. As much as making scientific research is important, having adequate publishing platforms for communicating findings are also important.

Secondly, restrictions by the governments might not be commensurate to the desired results as the governments who are policy makers may not be able to measure what it takes for a scientific research and development to be genuine. Take for instance, the government only allow publications on flooding during the rainy reasons with the hope of solving flooding issues in an area, however, flooding is dependent several other factors such as the slope of the area, the drainage system etc. Then, the desired result by the government tends not to be achieved. This however, shows that if there were no restrictions, the research findings could assist the government in solving the flooding issue from another perspective.

In conclusion, the concept of government instilling limitations on scientific research and development might seem straightforward considering the benefit therein, it is however not fundamental for the progress of scientific field. The government should rather focus on enhancing scientific research and development than placing restrictions in order to facilitate the progress of the community as a whole.