A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the author offers an interesting argument of the pet food manufactured by the company not being responsible for the symptoms in the pets who had consumed that food as well as the company not devoting further resources in the investigation, the author does not make a cogent case for it. The argument is rife with several holes and inconsistencies, and a lot of further information is required before the proposal by the author can actually be implemented.

Firstly, the author reports that the pet food company testes samples from the recalled food manufactured and found all the chemicals found to be approved for use. Thus the author insinuates that the pet food was safe for consumption. An extremely crucial assumption made in this case is the fact that the number of samples tested where enough to reach this conclusion. But the author has not specified the number of samples tested out of the batch of 4 million pounds. Were the number of samples at least more than fifty percent or more, or only samples as few as 10 were tested. In this case the untested samples might easily possess unapproved chemicals leading to them being unfit for the pets. Also in such a situation even if more than half the samples were checked there may be problems with the other half so the entire lot needs to be tested. Hence the answer to the number of samples being tested will help the company in successfully determining whether their food was responsible for the pets being ill or not.

Additionally the author states that samples from the recalled batch were tested for unapproved chemicals but does not the state the procedure of this checking. Was it a random check out of the 4 million pounds, or were one in every 10 samples checked, or were only a huge number of samples tested on first come basis. If only the first few samples were tested and no harmful chemicals were found, that does not imply that the other batches would not posses unapproved chemical as well. Hence knowing the procedure of the sample testing is extremely crucial for the company to decide whether further investigation in this matter is needed or not.

The author in his argument says that all the chemicals found in the samples tested were approved for use in pet food. But he does not specify whether the proportion of these chemicals in the sample were correct or not. He also does not state whether the samples were even tested for proportion of chemicals or not. If the proportions of these chemicals are anything other than what is stated in the approved formula then it can be deleterious for the pets. An improper balance of these approved chemicals can well cause these symptoms to rise in the pet animals. Hence it is crucial for the company to find out whether the mix of chemicals was correct or not in order to correctly make a decision regarding them being responsible for the symptoms or not or regarding the further investigation needed.

Also the author in his proposal implies that pet food company is not responsible for the symptoms and should not devote further resources to the investigation because no unapproved chemicals were found in the tested samples. But the author does not mention whether the pet food samples were expired or not. Since the item manufactured is an edible, only the chemicals being safe does not make it safe for consumption. If the recalled food samples were actually way past the last dat of expiry of their consumption, then they could have easily caused the symptoms in the pets. Thus it is essential to confirm the date of expiry of the recalled batch.

Hence even though the author puts forth some valid points, we can not agree to his proposal of the company being not responsible for the symptoms immediately. The company should carry out further investigation and seek answers to the aforementioned assumptions before making any decisions.