A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

__________

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The decision of the food company to stop devoting further resources to the investigation of the symptoms responsible for recalled food that cause the pets various kinds of illness should be analyzed again by the pet food company. Many assumptions have been made on the pet food company's part that causes the illness to the pets and the issue with the recalled food. The company should take the decision of stopping their investigation with more caution

Firstly, the company assumes that the issue could be in the chemical composition of the recalled food and not anything else. There are various reasons why this assumption could be falacious. The company's batch of pet food that went out for sale before would have been corrupted during the making of the product by some disgruntled employee or by some technical error of the machines producing it. The errors made by the machines could be adding sporadic quantities of chemical in the food that should have been added to a specific amount. There could be a possibility that the chemical composition of the pet food it flawless but the packaging of the food is not salubrious. The inner packaging could have been bad because of all the mice's and rats roaming around in the storage room of the packages. If any of these arguements prove to have merit then the company's arguement doesn't holds water.

Secondly, the company presumes that all the complaints could not have been by the owners of the pets, that could have had allergy to a certain chemical in the product. There could be a possibility that the pets detested or were peculiar to the taste of a certain chemical and the chemical is abundant in the product that might have caused the illness to the pets. If this arguement holds true then the company's assumptions is falacious

Finally, the majority of the pets that were sick and had the company's pet food were from a specific region and were sick due to some major disease in the city rather then the food. The company direct assumption that the recalled food was not the reason for the pets illness could have been bolstered with such empirical evidence rather than just withdrawings its decision to investigate the product further.

In conclusion, for the company to progress the company cannot just finalize their decision without taking a survey.