The following is taken from a memo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing

department, during the past year, fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the

quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions

would need to be answered in order to decide whether

the recommendation and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

The advertising director of the super screen movie production company recommends to increase the allocated share of the budget to advertising due to the lack of awareness by the public of good movies. He or she further mentions that the movies are given positive reviews by the movie reviewers. While making this argument the director makes several fallacious assumptions. However, before this following assumption can be properly evaluated, the director must answer the following questions.

First of all, are the recent condition similar to the earlier condition where the people could roam around freely? in other words is the marketing team comparing the data with keeping the current situtation in mind? It is possible that in other years the people attended the super screen-produced movies more frequently because of no restrictions by the government, but after the virus that has been luming over the people the restrictions by the government have been imposed on the people. Further, there is a posibility that last year due to the recession the financial condition of the people isn't as good as it was in the other years. If either of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion originally drawn is significantly weakened.

Secondly, did the perecentage of the positive reviews way only restricted to the super screen movies? there could have been a possibility where the movie had been released on various sources as well. The people who have been given positive reviews to the movies are actually watching the movies on other platforms which are currently booming. The other possibility can be the reviews could have been spurious. It could have been a few people who might have been giving the good reviews are not geniune. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't holds water.

Finally, is there an advertising budget in action currently? is it possible that due to the large number of people always attending the super screen-produced movies the company ceased the advertising of the movies as they were already a hit. If the above situation exists, the the directors argument is fallacious.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director is unable to answer the following three questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form that the data can be corroborated), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of increasing the advertising budget.